There was no catching Oliver Townend in the Horse Sport Ireland CCI3* at Ballindenisk as the British rider maintained his ten-fault lead with a clear show jumping round today to secure victory on Lanfranco TSF.

Ireland’s Padraig McCarthy kept the deficit as it was overnight by going clear with Bernadette Utopia to take second place. Great Britain’s Sophie Brown got around with just a time fault, holding onto third place on Wil.

Laura Collett gave Great Britain victory in the Foulkstown Feeds CIC3* on Mr. Bass, finishing with a 1.2 penalty advantage over Townend and Cooley SRS as New Zealand’s Caroline Powell dropped to third after picking up six time penalties cross-country.

Sam Watson produced a home win in the Eventing Ireland CCI2* with Ardagh Highlight, the pairing leading all the way from dressage without yielding a fault. Swede Ludwig Svennerstal also stayed faultless to claim second place on Stinger, as did ireland’s Sophie Richards and SRS Adventure who finished third.

Svennerstal took the CIC2* event riding Box Leo, with Watson in second on Tullabeg Flamenco 0.9 penalties behind and 0.4 ahead of Chuffy Clarke of Great Britain in third with Willem III.

Townend netted first and third in the CCI1* with Cold Play and Menlo Park respectively, with Izzy Taylor and Monkeying Around making it a British clean sweep in the event by taking second.

It was a British one-two in the Bucas CCIJ1* as Phoebe Locke and Union Fortunus prevailed over Imogen White and Emill, while Robyn McCluskey took third for Ireland on Rum Jumbie just 1.4 penalties behind the winner.

In the CIC1* Kristina Hall-Jackson finished 2.2 penalties ahead of Ireland’s Michael McNally and Eclipto, with Louise Bloomer getting another placing for Ireland in the event with Hollybrook Hotshot, 0.4 penalties further back.

With an almost entirely Irish field in the Pony class, home riders filled the first three places with the honours going to Ava Banahan and Rathnaleen Dark Secret ahead of Jennifer Kuehnle and Fernhill Timbacktoo and Hannah Adams and Myshall Rodge.

Josh Tobin