Ireland’s show jumping team begins its bid for medals at the World Equestrian Games (WEG) at Tryon in North Carolina on Wednesday.

Chef d’Equipe Rodrigo Pessoa has selected his riders and horses, and they will take part in the opening Team and Individual First Competition speed class from 2pm Irish time onwards.

The Irish team is:
Shane Sweetnam – Chaqui Z (drawn first to jump)
Shane Breen – Ipswich Van De Wolfsakker (drawn 31st to jump)
Paul O’Shea – Skara Glen’s Machu Picchu (drawn 67th to jump)
Cian O’Connor – Good Luck (drawn 97th to jump)

124 starters (49 nations, 25 teams)

All four Irish horses passed Monday’s trot-up at the Tryon Centre.

The timetable for the show jumping competitions after Wednesday is:
Thursday, 20th September 2018
•Team & Individual Second Competition
Round 1 Unknown

Friday, 21st September 2018
•Team & Individual Second Competition
Round 2
Medal Ceremony Team 

Sunday, 23rd September 2018
•Individual Third Competition
Round A and B
Medal Ceremony Individual

The Irish show jumping team will also be aiming to finish in the top six at the World Equestrian Games, in order to secure team qualification for the Tokyo Olympics in 2020.

No Irish show jumping team has qualified for the Olympics in 16 years.

Live streaming
See television coverage details here

Updates will take place on We Live Horse’s Facebook page and Twitter feed throughout the championships.

-Jack Burns