Irish riders were in sparkling form this evening when taking both main classes at the Nations Cup meeting in Rotterdam.

It was a one-two for the Irish In the Dura Vermeer Cup 1m55 speed contest, Darragh Kenny swooping late on Chanel to deny fellow-Irishman Shane Breen and Ipswich van de Wolfsakker, who had earlier overtaken Great Britain’s Jessica Mendoza and Toy Boy.

Later in the evening, Mark McAuley and Jacintha v. Kriekenhof won the Port Club Rotterdam trophy coming home three-quarters of a second ahead of Sweden’s Peder Fredrickson and Hasard, with Dutch rider Maikel Van Der Vleuten third on Dana Blue.

Breen and Golden Hawk will open for the Irish team in tomorrow’s Nations Cup at the Dutch arena, while Kenny will partner Charly Chaplin S. Bertram Allen and Hector van d’Abdijhoeve will be third-in for Ireland with the team challenge being anchored by Cian O’Connor and Good Luck.

A tough afternoon’s competition is expected with seven countries competing for league points.

Ireland will be third in the jumping order in the competition which gets underway at 2pm Irish time.

Josh Tobin