Bertram Allen will once again compete for Valkenswaard United in the new season of the Global Champions League, the team line-ups for which were announced yesterday.

The only Irish rider to compete In last year’s inaugural competition, Allen helped Valkenswaard win the League outright after fifteen rounds held in top venues around the globe. 

For the new season, which gets underway in Mexico City early next month, Allen will be joined by Marcus Ehning, Alberto Zorzi, Janika Sprunger and Sanne Thijssen.

“I’m really looking forward to riding with my new teammates to try to keep the title”, said the Irish rider. “It was an honour and a bit of a dream to compete in a team with John (Whitaker) last season.” Whitaker has switched allegiances to new outfit Hamburg Diamonds for the coming campaign.

Three other Irish riders have signed up for this year’s competition. Cian O’Connor will be part of the Miami Glory squad along with Scott Brash, Georgina Bloomberg, Kimberly Prince and Paris Sellon, while Darragh Kenny will compete for Paris Panthers, whose squad also includes Nayel Nassar, Jack Towell, Jennifer Gates and Lille Keenan.

Meanwhile 34 year-old Michael Kearins lines out with the Moscow Bears alongside Kamal Bahamdan, Ramzy Al Duhami, Mathilda Karlsson and Kevin Jochems.

Josh Tobin