Darragh Kenny and Cian O’Connor have made the most significant moves by Irish riders in the top 100 of the latest Longines FEI World Rankings, published today.

Kenny’s performances in Barcelona, where he jumped a clear round in the Nations Cup Final and also won the Grand Prix, were major contributors to his rise of eight places from 50th to 42nd, while O’Connor climbed five places from 48th to 43rd after good results at Spruce Meadows and a fifth place finish in the Grand Prix at Los Angeles at the weekend.

Bertram Allen continues to be the highest ranked Irish rider, retaining 16th place, and Allen is now the only Irish rider inside the top 30. Conor Swail and Denis Lynch share 32nd place in the latest standings, which represents a drop of two places for Swail and eleven places for Lynch.

Billy Twomey stays inside the top 50, dropping one place to 47, but Richie Moloney has dipped to 64th from last month’s ranking of 49th. Shane Sweetnam is down six places to 59th.

There were two major upward moves by Irish riders below the top 100. Greg Broderick’s performances with MHS Going Global at Spruce Meadows and Barcelona have seen him climb up to 170th, a rise of ninety-six places, while Daniel Coyle has moved up fifty places to 140th.

Germany’s Christian Ahlmann retains top spot in the rankings ahead of French rider Simon Delestre who overtakes American Kent Farrington for second place.

The most impressive move at the upper end of the rankings came from Italy’s Lorenzo De Luca, who climbed from 37th to 20th place. Mike Dunne.

Longines FEI Rankings:

1. Christian Ahlmann (GER)
2. Simon Delestre (FRA)
3. Kent Farrington (USA)
4. McLain Ward (USA)
5. Eric Lamaze (CAN)
6. Daniel Deusser (GER)
7. Penelope Leprevost (FRA)
8. Kevin Staut (FRA)
9 Marcus Ehning (GER)
10. Scott Brash (GBR)

Irish riders in top 200:
16. Bertram Allen
= 32. Conor Swail
= 32. Denis Lynch
42. Darragh Kenny
43. Cian O’Connor
47. Billy Twomey
59. Shane Sweetnam
64. Richie Moloney
112. Anthony Condon
132. Dermott Lennon
133. Shane Breen
140. Daniel Coyle
151. Cameron Hanley
170. Greg Broderick
179. Marion Hughes