Ireland’s Jonty Evans will be in the last group of riders in today’s show jumping phase of eventing at the Deodoro complex in Rio. Evans’ horse Cooley Rorkes Drift passed inspection today after being held at the first showing.

The show jumping will be run on a  ‘lowest ranked goes first’ basis. The non-team riders will jump first, followed by the teams (from the lowest ranked team upwards), with the lowest ranked rider from each team going in the first rotation.

Clare Abbott and Euro Prince will be first to jump for Ireland going 15th in the running order, with Mark Kyle and Jemilla coming in as 27th to go.

Evans still has an outside chance of an individual medal. After the team competition has ended, the top 25 riders will go forward to the individual Final carrying their penalties with them and will jump in reverse order for the medals. Josh Tobin